Making Democracy Work

About the League

What is our mission? How are we structured?

LWV of the Lewisburg Area Board of Directors- 2019-2020

Officers: President-Teri MacBride; First Vice-President-Mary Beth Clark; Second Vice-President-Becky Perez; Treasurer-Hood Johnston; Secretary-Pat Longley

Directors: Janice Bigelow, Imanni Burg, Ruth Burnham, Liz Clement, Kandy Duncan, Linda Harris, Carole Madle, Paul Mauger, Mary Zimmerman

Our Mission and Roles

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.

The League of Women Voters has two separate and distinct roles.

  • Voters Service/Citizen Education: we present unbiased nonpartisan information about elections, the voting process, and issues.

  • Action/Advocacy: we are also nonpartisan, but, after study, we use our positions to advocate for or against particular policies in the public interest.

To conduct our voter service and citizen education activities, we use funds from the League of Women Voters Education Fund, which is a 501(c)(3) corporation, a nonprofit educational organization. The League of Women Voters, a membership organization, conducts action and advocacy and is a nonprofit 501(c)(4) corporation.

Our Vision, Beliefs, and Intentions guide our activities.